Garden, also called Wangshi Garden, is characteristic of the most exquisite
garden-houses in Suzhou. The garden was built in 1174 A.D and originally
the garden of the Song official Shi Zhengzhi and bore the name Thousand
Scroll Hall. It was rebuilt during the reign of Emperor Qian Long by an
early Qing-dynasty official Song Zongyuan and changed to its present name.
Covering 5,400 square meters, Fishermans Garden is divided into two parts:
the eastern residential quarter and the western garden. The refined residential
quarter is representative of those of the feudal gentry in old Suzhou.
From south to north are ranged three elegantly decorated halls - the sedan
hall, main hall and rear hall. These three sections open up along a middle
axis. The entire residential area is very laid out rigorously and according
to rules; not very large, but with rich atmosphere, contrasting the calm
and reserve of the garden area.
western garden, making up four fifth of the total area, is focused on
a lake and decorated with plants, rocks, pavilions, and stone bridges.
To the north of the lake, they are the 99 Watching Pines and Appreciating
Paintings Studio, the Prunus Mume Pavilion. With white -washed walls as
their backdrop, stones bamboo, Prunus mume and Musa basjoo partly concealed
by windows and buildings have incredibly come to foorm numerous picturesque
the eastern part we find the Duck Shooting Corridor. To the west is a
quiet petite court with Late Spring Abode (Dian Chun Yi) as its main building.
To the south are Small Hill Osmanthus Bush Pavilion, Pavilion of Clean
Water for Cap-string Washing, Stick to Peace Mansion and Lute Chamber,
comprising courtyards of quiet seclusion. The gardens' construction make
this small garden like a unique poem-of few words; a garden in a garden,
a view in a view, giving unforgettable memories.