Tiger Hill (Hu Qiu),
also known as Surging Sea Hill, standing 36 meters high and covering an
area of some 14,100 square meters, is located at the northwest suburbs
of Suzhou city, 3.5 kilometers from the Chang Gate. Near the top of the
hill is the burial place of the founding father of Suzhou who died in
the 6th century BC. His tomb was supposedly guarded by a white tiger which
explains the name of the hill.
up to the hill, there are a number of historical sites including some
from 2,500 years ago. "It's a pity of a lifetime if you have been
to Suzhou but missed the Tiger Hill," said Su Shi, the Song Poet.
The millennium-old Yunyan Pagoda, also known as the Leaning Tower, stands
on top of the hill and is regarded as the symbol of Suzhou.
sword-testing stone is of great interest. Legend
goes that King
He Lu was a zealous collector of rare swords and he tested all his swords
on the stone, so leaving the crevice on the rock. He was was buried with
3,000 swords and 1,000 builders were killed after building the tomb so
that the secret of the swords would not be revealed.
Hill Pagoda stands
on the hill's summit and
is part of the Yunyan Temple. The pagoda was first built in the Sui dynasty
(581-618) and rebuilt in 961 AD in the Northern Song dynasty. It is 47.5
meters high with 7 stories and is the the oldest pagoda in Suzhou. With
a history over 1000 years, the pagoda now is regarded as the symbol of
are other historical sites such as Broken Beam Hall, Yongcui Shanzhuang,
Wanjing Villa, Lu Yu Well and Tomb of the True Lady.